With approximately 85 % of expatriate population, Dubai is probably one of the cities with most number of nationalities in the world. Most of these nationalities are Asian.

 

When I first came in Dubai, certainly I was so excited and at the same time nervous. I was excited that my dream of becoming an internationally professional can finally come true. I was also nervous because of the thought that I may not adjust fully and not get a job. But thankfully, I was able to get a job and now I am fully adjusted.

 

Since I started working in a medical centre, I was able to meet different people with different nationalities as patients come and go. From known nationalities like Arab, American, African, British, Canadian, Filipino, Iranian, Indian and Pakistani to not so familiar (for me) nationalities like Kittitian, Djibouti, Tanzania, Azerbaijan, Saint Pierre, Lithuania, Mauritius, Belarus and Seychelles to name a few. It was so energizing to meet different kinds of people and can somehow have a conversation with them even for a short period of time. Most of our patients are very friendly and I am glad to work for them. Language barrier is a big aspect that hinders our service, but still we are able to manage.

 

My co-workers consist of Filipinos, Indians, Pakistanis and Iranians; and almost all bosses, which are Doctors, are Iranians. Working with the bosses is as always difficult, but these bosses that I have are terrible. It is like they were always on their period and have problem with their stress and anger management. They shout at their staffs even if patients were there, they bang the phone and even tell probably the most unpleasant words a person could ever hear. Well, that was when I first came here. Eventually I learned how to handle their personality and I was cultured about how they work. I can say that they all are excellent doctors as their patients were coming back and forth to consult them.

 

My other workmates are mostly Indians, at first I found them very bossy. They were bossy, in a way of commanding others to do a job which they can do by themselves. For them, they were just requesting; but for me, the way they request is very impolite. They want to be dominant in the workplace and they will never accept mistakes. In an argument, I bet you’ll just close the topic because of their explanations that do not relate to the issue and makes the conversation non sense.

In a blog by Lijee Philip DIBYENDU GANGULY, INDIAN WORK HABITS THROUGH EYES OF FOREIGNERS  link.

They have compiled a list of qualities that Indians posses when it comes to work in foreigner’s perspective along with Indian’s perspective as well.

 

I may agree to almost all of what was listed there, but I have to admit, that in order to work in harmony, we should respect each other no matter what nationality, culture and religion we may have. We cannot reason that, “In my country, I can be late and no one complains, so maybe it can also work here”. I think we should be adaptable in our differences, and as much as possible we should always communicate with each other. Besides, being professional comes from individual and culture doesn’t do anything about it.

 

In the present, I can be as distracted or irritated as I can because of them, but they will not be affected of whatever I feel, because they are what they are. No one can ever change that.

 

I can only change the way I deal with them.

 

I think before we consider working in other country, we should be aware first what kind of nationalities people living there are. We should also be aware of our actions since we don’t know yet what their practices and norms are.  For instance, possibly holding hands in public is okay for us, but for them, it is not. We should think of the possibilities that may offend them by our actions; especially for the local people. We should also keep in mind that the place we want to go to is their country so we should always give extra effort in understanding them.

 

Above all, we should respect and accept differences in any way.

